Jun 17 - Great Racing Action at Heinen Repair Service Sponsor Appreciation Night

Great Racing Action at Heinen Repair Service Sponsor Appreciation  Night


6-15-13 MAYETTA, KS. –Mother Nature wasn’t sure if she was going to cooperate with Thunder Hill Speedway or not. As race time approached the ominous clouds seemed to give way to a few slivers of sunshine, however she still threw a few sprinkles at the track just to prove she is the boss. As in weeks past track preparation was the key to an absolutely awesome night of racing.  Everyone that I talked to after the races simply marveled at the quality of racing Thunder Hill speedway has produced this year so far.  As a special tribute to fathers that made it to the Speedway a large amount of t-shirts and hats, some of which were provided by Heinen Repair Service, were given away during the extremely short intermission.

In the Casey’s General Store IMCA Sport Compact Division the lead swapped hands several times early on with the Ziegler girls actually swapping paint with each other on their way to the front. Dan Canady led early on only to be overtaken by Danie Ziegler as she charged to the front. The eventual top five were Danie Ziegler picking up her first win of the season followed by Dan Canady, Morgan Ziegler, Wade Heller and Don Dale.

The Kansas National Guard IMCA Hobby Stocks have been doing more than their fair share of providing the racefans with excitement.  Larry Hunter led the beginning laps before Danny Masters took over. As the field made it to half way Kelly Pihl started his run to the front.  Pihl and Stich battled for the lead as the laps came to a close, with  Baumgartner right on their bumpers. It was redemption time for Pihl as he had been in this position earlier in the season only to have it slip away from him with a last lap spinout.   At the stripe it was Pihl,  Brian Stich, Troy Baumgartner, Jacob Crowell and Nicholas Ronnebaum.

The Belleville Motor Sports IMCA Northern Sportmods had their best race of the season.  Dusty Leonard started 12th and battled his way to the front only to bring out an early race caution for mechanical issues.  As the race starting to come to an end Kyle Olberding had managed to put himself out front. As the checkers flew it was Olberding  getting the win followed by Bryan Rigsby, Jesse Shotts, Clay Hale and Luke Stallbaumer.

It was Heinen Repair Service Sponsor Appreciation Night at Thunder Hill, so it was only fitting that this race proved to be one of the best of the evening. Jim Powell found himself out front and was leading in the closing laps only to have a late race caution bunch the field back up. Lance Borgman used the single file, nose to tail restart to his advantage and overtook Jim Powell in the final laps. The top five were Lance Borgman, Jim Powell, Brian Labonte, Adam Armstrong, and Matt Haid.

The BSB Manufacturing IMCA Modifieds was the final feature of the evening and the track was in great  shape for this event. Tom Charles had told me earlier in the evening that he had found something different in the set up on this car, and it was evident early on that he was quite happy with his machine. In the early portion of this race Scott Brown seemed to be in command, however Jesse Richter and Allen Halderman also had winning on their minds as they put on a fierce battle.  As Tim Pralle threw the last checkered flag of the evening it was Allen Halderman standing proudly in the Pit Pass Liquor Victory Lane, followed by Scott Brown, Jesse Richter, Justin Becker and Tom Charles.

Racing will resume next Saturday night as we welcome Abbott Mfg. to Thunder Hill Speedway. Our Casey’s General Store IMCA Sport Compacts will have the night off to make room for the Lucas Oil MLRA Late Models. Bring a friend and a cooler!!! General admission for this event is $15.00 adults, 12 and under FREE. Gates open at 5:00 pm, drivers meeting 6:30, with racing to follow.  Friend Thunder Hill Speedway on Facebook or find us at www.racethunderhillspeedway.com .

Bill Grit