By Troy Harrison

After the domination last year by Jordan Grabouski in theXtreme Motor Sports Clash on the Hill, this year has seen numerous new visitors to the Pit Stop Liquor Victory Lane.  Recent new BSB IMCA Modified victors have included Derrick Brown, Richard Spriggs, and P.J. Conger, and on Saturday night, Mike Petersilie etched his name into the books as a feature winner at Thunder Hill Speedway.  Joining him in Victory Lane was Kyle Vanover (Heinen Repair Service IMCA Stock Cars), Kyle Olberding (Kansas National Guard IMCA Northern SportMods), Dominic Thyfault (BuyRaceParts.com IMCA Hobby Stocks), and Wade Heller (IMCA Sport Compacts).

Mike Petersilie is another driver who has been a frequent contender, but not a winner, at Thunder Hill in the BSB Manufacturing IMCA Modified division.  Following a recent string of new winners this year, Petersiliestaked his claim to the Pit Stop Victory Lane on Saturday night in convincing fashion over hometowner Scott Brown.  Brown pulled out to an early lead but wasquickly overhauled by Petersilie, who had the track figured out.  A couple of midrace yellows allowed Brown back onto Petersilie’s bumper, and Brown nearly repassed Petersilie during a heated midrace battle as the handling went away on Petersilie’s machine on the low side of turns one and two. Brown was able to get next to Petersilie’s machine on two occasions.  After Petersilie moved back up the racetrack, he was able to hold off Brown for a four car length margin at the finish.  Brown was second, with Kurt Johnston returning to form with a third place finish.  Tom Charles, in another mount after his big crash of a few weeks ago, finished fourth, and Jesse Richter was fifth.

Kyle Vanover started deep in the pack in the Heinen Repair IMCA Stock Car feature, but an early scuffle helped clear the way.  A flat tire on Marvin Griffith Jr.’s machine triggered a chain reaction that involved contenders Jim Powell Jr. and Mike Taylor, putting Griffith in the pits and Taylor and Powell to the back of the field.  On the restart, Brian Labonte took off to the lead but was passed by Lance Borgman.  Borgman moved out to a long lead while Vanover worked his way through the pack.  With a clear track, Vanover was able to reel Borgman in, slipping underneath him in turn one.  The two raced side by side for a lap before Vanover cleared Borgman and pulled away to the win. Borgman held second, followed by Greg Deters, Bob Arnold, and Powell.

Kyle Olberding’s run to the victory in the KansasNational Guard IMCA Northern SportMod feature was an exciting one, as he had tobattle for several laps with a determined Kurtis Pihl.  First, Olberding had to deal with a very quick Brian Neiberger who led from the start.  After Olberding cleared Neiberger, Pihl also passed Neiberger to move up to race with Olberding. The two fought for the lead for several laps midrace, but Olberding was eventually able to clear Pihl to take the checkered.  Pihl stayed in second,with Luke Stallbaumer third, Neiberger fourth, and Eddie Schwope Jr. fifth.

It took Dominic Thyfault two years to take his first BuyRaceParts.com IMCA Hobby Stock feature, but it only took him two weeks to win a second.  He did so on Saturday night in convincing fashion, simply clearing the field and having a clean run to the finish.  Also having a clean run was Waylon Banks.  Banks, who has been plagued with mechanical problems this year, had the package together on Saturday night and had a fine run into second. Josh Haid finished third, with John Bass fourth and Travis Darnall fifth.

Wade Heller took another win in the IMCA Sport Compacts. Brandon Lobdell finished second, Kaylee Diekman third.  Scott Spellmeier was not in his familiar #88 machine, taking an unfamiliar car to fourth, with Danie Ziegler rounding out the top five.

The Xtreme Motor Sports Clash on the Hill continues Saturday Night, August 11, with the popular
“Ladies’ Night” promotion.  All ladies are admitted to the grandstands free.  Gates open at 5:00 PM, driver’s meeting at 6:30, hotlaps and races to follow. Adult General Admission is $10.00, kids 12 and under are free.  Coolers are allowed (Canned beer only no glass bottles) for a $10 charge.  Pit passes are $25.00.

Thunder Hill Speedway is located at 11995 NW 142nd Road (2 miles West of US-75 on NW  142nd Road), in Mayetta, KS.  For more information, please visit www.racethunderhillspeedway.com.